WotC Erratas, Complete List


[Streaming Mantle] Magcargo from Skyridge is wrongly translated.
A more accurate translation would be:

You may use this Power once during your turn, when you play this card from your hand to evolve your Active Pokémon. Both players discard the top 3 cards from their deck. If either player discarded any cards this way, each player shuffles 3 Basic Energy cards from their discard pile into their deck.

It matters for cases when the player playing the card cannot complete their own part of the effect. In this case, they cannot mill the opponent with the English translation while they can with the Japanese text.


In the japanese meowth has the coinflip before you choose a pokemon. This isn’t likely to come up but in some fringe cases it could reveal information to your opponent they wouldn’t otherwise have (like if you choose neo genesis noctowl over a different pokemon it might give away that you have a good trainer card in hand)

Same thing with pokemon reversal

Also n1 seadra and n4 dark omastar. Not wotc era but Sandstorm lileep pop 1 swampert legend maker haunter have the same error and I can’t find any mention of them online either

I’m pretty sure your translation is also slightly innacurate and shuffling back happens even if neither player is able to discard.

I’m actually going to offer a third opinion regarding Magcargo, in disagreement with both of you, lol.

The Japanese text of Magcargo’s Streaming Mantle Poké-POWER reads:

この力は、自分の番に、このカードを手札から出して、自分のバトルポケモンを進化させたとき、1回だけ使うことができる。おたがいのプレイヤーは、それぞれ、自分の山札の上からカードを3枚トラッシュする。その後、それぞれ、自分のトラッシュから「基本エネルギーカード」を3枚選び出し、山札にもどす。その場合、その山札をよく切る。

“This power can be used only once on your turn, when you play this card from your hand to evolve your Active Pokémon. Each player discards 3 cards from the top of their deck. Then, each player selects three “Basic Energy Cards” from their discard pile and returns them to their deck. In that case, that deck is shuffled well.”

The last sentence, その場合、その山札をよく切る, begins with “in that case,” meaning “if a player returned cards to their deck,” and is followed with “that deck,” meaning “the deck to which cards were returned.” In other words, if one player returns cards to their deck and the other does not, only the player who does should shuffle their deck.

Note that this is just my interpretation of the Japanese text; I have not dug for any formal rulings, nor consulted any official judges/Japanese experts.

Is this ifferent? If a card in pokemon instructs you to shuffle no cards back into a deck do you still have to shuffle your deck?


I think unown q was also mistranslated. I’m not super familiar with how the rules would work here but the japanese text stops you from using the power if another unown q already used quicken. One of the two following things is true under the japanese text (I don’t know which one but both are false under english text)

  1. If you activate an unown q scoop up and replay it, you will not be able to use it again. OR
  2. If you have three unown q in play, activate one of them, then scoop up and replay it you will be able to use it again.



I’ve attached the two relevant pages (98-99) from the Neo 4 Handy Guide for reference.

Page 98 gives this reading for the Pokémon Power:

この力は、自分の番ことに1回使うことができる。コインを投げて「おもて」なら、次の相手の番、自分の場のげンノ_ン」全貝は、ワザによるダメージや効果を受けない。この番に、すでに自分の場のほかのアンノーン「Q」の「QUICKEN」を使っていたなら、この力を使うことはできない。

My best attempt at translation:

This power can be used once per turn during your turn. If you flip a coin and it is “Heads”, then all your “Unown” in play will not receive any damage or effects from attacks during your opponent’s next turn. If you have already used the “QUICKEN” power of another Unknown “Q” in your field during this turn, you cannot use this power.

The text at the top of page 99 reads:

「QUICKEN」は、自分の番の中で1回だけ使うことができる特殊能力で、このアンノーン[Q]がバトル場にいてもベンチにいても使うことができます。ただし、同じ番の中で、2匹以上のアンノーン[Q]の[QUICKEN]を使うことはできません。

Translation:

“QUICKEN” is a Pokémon Power that can be used only once on your turn, whether this Unown [Q] is active or on your bench. However, you cannot use [QUICKEN] with more than one Unown [Q] on the same turn.

The card text does not appear to me to mean that the other Unown needs to be in play at the same time, nor that it needs to still remain in play in order to prohibit a second use of QUICKEN. When it says “another one of your Unown Q in your field,” I don’t believe it means that the other Unown Q needs to be in play right now; rather, I believe it’s just a clunky way of specifying that the Unown Q that used it was in play (in your field) when you used the power the first time. Was there any way in the Neo era of using your opponent’s Pokémon’s Pokémon Powers? Or of using the Pokémon Power of a Pokémon that was in your discard pile, or your hand? Nothing comes to mind, but if so, then those methods would technically bypass this. Anyway, as for Scoop Up, it’s not considered the same Unown anymore once it leaves play, so I believe that using QUICKEN, playing Scoop Up, and re-benching the same Unown Q would not allow you to use QUICKEN again. The author’s commentary on page 99 corroborates that interpretation by stating that “you cannot use [QUICKEN] with more than one Unown [Q] on the same turn.”

TL;DR: I’m fairly confident that your first interpretation is the correct one.

I don’t know about modern rules, but in the old back era, I can say that you don’t shuffle your deck if you have no Trainer cards in hand when Lass is played.


Dark gyarados power should only trigger from your opponent’s attacks. The english text would apply to your own attacks as well

Ah, this technically would require an errata because of Selfdestruct attacks. Good catch.

Wigglytuff and retro energy have an incorrect “up to”. Sandslash also does not say up to in japanese but some other japanese cards like delta species marowak imply that you can choose the same pokemon multiple times and I don’t 100% know the ruling here. Two non wotc cards (onix rg42 and onix dp92) that I’m aware of also seem to work like marowak and went unerrataed. I don’t know which, if any, of these are incorrect on tcgone.

Japanese ariados power applies twice when both players have at least 1 ariados in play

This is only relevant in 2004 2-on-2 (or I guess unlimited 2-on-2) but elekid should say “benched pokemon” rather than “other pokemon”


Jumpluff only prevent damage and effects done to jumpluff, not all damage and effects of the attack. This was fixed with a ruling but I think to list it here to be comprehensive

Energy changed with lanturn should also go back to lightning if it is moved to another pokemon

Porygon’s first attack should not say “may”. This could matter if the defending pokemon has a colorless weakness but you still want to attack for some reason. Also affects porygon from team rocket

I think time capsule will shuffle both decks if either player puts cards back similar to the magcargo issue noted earlier. The text is different light wigglytuff and light slowbro for comparison and would match a wotc ruling for pokemon march for what thats worth

I’m not sure about this but I think some cards say “may search” when they should not. shining magikarp and ho-oh both from neo revelations I think are mandatory search and shuffle in japanese but different from eachother in english. Some cards let you choose up to a cretain amount of cards which I don’t know how that works in japan but I think mareep n1 ampharos n3 ho-oh n3 should be mandatory search and shuffle regardless.

Dragonite’s retreat reducing effect should end at the end of the turn. The english text seems to imply that it would continue forever similar to jungle venomoth or base set porygon


Strength charm does not increase damage to the bench. There was a ruling which addressed this but the ruling has an incorrect explanation of why.

I think the opponent gets to choose which pokemon to switch for dark ivysaur

It’s translated by ToineLay

The Expedition print of Strength Charm has three errors on it. Only one of the errors was fixed for the Team Magma vs Team Aqua print; the Deoxys and Dragon Frontiers prints were correctly translated (the card’s effect has never changed across its Japanese printing). The errors are 1) only applies to damage done to the Active Pokemon (this was already called out); 2) 10+ damage is before W/R; 3) it discards at the end of any attack (even a non-damaging one). So the correct wording is:

Whenever an attack from the Pokémon that Strength Charm is attached to does damage to the Active Pokémon, this attack does 10 more damage (before applying Weakness and Resistance). Discard Strength Charm at the end of the turn in which this Pokémon attacks.

Can you elaborate on the before/after weakness/resistance? The e-card darkness energy also says after so that would also seem to be mistranslated if this was the case. The japanese wording on the e-card version of strength charm seems to match with other effects that applied after weakness/resistance. Was there a rules change in vs/web that wotc chose not to implement?

Page 49 of the Pokémon Card-e Official Trainer’s Guide 2002 (ポケモンカードe公式トレーナーズガイド2002, ©️2002-01-30 Media Factory, ISBN4-8401-0509-X) gives us this damage calculation flowchart for the e-card era:

According to this flow chart, Weakness and Resistance are calculated before the effects of cards like Strength Charm and Darkness Energy.

  1. Calculate the basic damage of the attack. If the result is “0” or a negative number, stop the calculations here and do no damage.
  2. Calculate any damage-modifying effects on the attacking Pokémon. This does not include effects of Trainers or Special Energy Cards, but I am inferring that it probably does include effects of Pokémon Powers, Poké-POWERS, and Poké-BODIES, as long as those effects apply to the Pokémon that is doing the attacking. The example from the book tells us that this is the point at which we would check if Bruno’s Hitmontop used Quick Rotation last turn, putting an effect on it that changes Spinning Head’s damage from 20 to 40 this turn. Again, the book states that if the result is “0” or a negative number, we should stop the calculations here and do no damage.
  3. Calculate the effect, if applicable, of Weakness.
  4. Calculate the effect, if applicable, of Resistance. The “stop if the result is 0 or negative” clause is conspicuously absent here, which is significant (and should actually warrant a bug fix on TCG1). The GBC games of the gen 1 era did not stop here, which meant, for example, a Diglett with a PlusPower could Mud Slap (30 base damage) a Doduo for 10 damage. I have confirmed with the Japanese old back retro community that this GBC functionality is correct, and this is how it should be played.
  5. Calculate the effects of Trainer and Special Energy cards on the attacking Pokémon. For example, this is the point at which Strength Charm would add +10 damage, per the book.
  6. Calculate the effects of Trainer and Special Energy cards on the Pokémon being hit/affected by the attack (“Defending Pokémon,” but also potentially benched Pokémon, or even the attacking Pokémon when it does damage to itself). For example, this is the point at which Metal Energy would reduce the damage taken by 10, per the book.
  7. Calculate any other damage-modifying effects (not of Trainers or Special Energy) on the Pokémon that is being affected by the attack (“Defending Pokémon”). For example, the book tells us that this is the point at which we would calculate the effect of Metapod’s Exoskeleton Poké-BODY, which reduces damage done to it by attacks by 20.

That chart comes from an e-card era source, so for comparison, here’s one from an EX-era source: Pokémon Card Game Official Guide 2003 (ボケモンカードゲーム公式ガイド2003, ©️2003-06-30 Pokémon), page 7:

Part 1: Offensive Calculations

  1. Perform the basic damage calculations of the attack itself as printed on the card. If the result is 0 or a negative number, stop here, and the attack will not deal any damage.
  2. If the Pokémon performing the attack has any damage-modifying effects on it, calculate those effects now. Unlike in the e-card era, this DOES include effects such as Darkness Energy and Strength Charm, BEFORE applying Weakness and Reaistance. * Again, If the result is 0 or a negative number, stop here, and the attack will not deal any damage.

Part 2: Defensive Calculations

  1. Calculation of Weakness
  2. Calculation of Resistance
  3. Calculation of any and all damage-modifying effects on the Defending Pokémon. This would include things like Metal Energy, Hard Charm, Defender, etc.

TL;DR - Damage calculation changed between e-card and EX.




These cards should only reduce damage done to themselves, not all damage. If you use selfdestruct on base set magnemite with the japanese wording only the damage done to the other active is reduced. With the english wording it seems like it would do no damage to bench and reduced self damage.